Member Blogs > HCBooksOnline BlogAnthony Trollope – Oxford World's Classics Edition

  • Tue, 24 Mar 2015 05:43:42    Permalink
    Anthony Trollope – Oxford World’s Classics Edition

    Trollope and Oxford University go back a long way – to 1907, in fact, when the first Trollope novel was published in the fondly-remembered hardback World’s Classics series. The Three Clerks was followed 11 years later by The Warden, then by a further 41 titles, the majority appearing in the 20s and 30s, right up until the late 1950s. The then Oxford publisher, Sir Humphrey Milford, was a great enthusiast, and it is not too much to say that he was chiefly responsible for the resurrection of Trollope’s reputation as a serious writer with the general reader.

    A List of Titles in Numerical Order

    140 The Three Clerks
    217 The Warden
    239 An Autobiography
    251 The Belton Estate
    252 The Claverings
    268 Barchester Towers
    272 The Vicar of Bullhampton
    278 Miss Mackenzie
    279 Rachel Ray
    298 Doctor Thorne
    305 Framley Parsonage
    317 Doctor Wortle’s School
    336 Sir Harry Hotspur of Humblethwaite
    341 The Kellys and the O’Kellys
    342 Ayala’s Angel
    357 The Eustace Diamonds
    391 The American Senator
    397 Tales of All Countries First Series
    398 The Last Chronicle of Barset
    423/424 Orley Farm
    443 Lady Anna
    447/478 Phineas Finn
    450/451 Phineas Redux
    454/455 The Prime Minister
    462 The Duke’s Children
    468/469 Can You Forgive Her?
    472 The Small House at Allington
    475/476 Ralph the Heir
    484 The Way We Live Now
    492 Is He Popenjoy?
    502 John Caldigate
    503 Mr. Scarborough’s Family
    504 The Golden Lion of Granpere
    505 Nina Balatka and Linda Tressel
    507 He Knew He Was Right

    Known Titles with so far unknown numbers

    The Bertrams
    Castle Richmond
    Early Short Stories
    Later Short Stories

    Possible other titles

    The Fixed Period
    The Landleaguers
    An Eye for an Eye
    Harry Heathcote of Gangoil
    Jones and Robinson
    La Vendée
    The MacDermots of Ballycloran
    The Struggles of Brown

    Search Anthony Trollope’s books at Heron Books

Looks like you are ready to submit this application

If you are satisfied that your application is complete, go ahead and click "submit this application."
Otherwise, click "review this application" to review your answers or make additional changes.